Statement of Purpose.
To promote the rights and needs of ratepayers within the shire of Nillumbik.

The Shire of Nillumbik contains some outer north eastern suburbs of Melbourne and rural localities beyond the urban area. It has an area of 435 square kilometres and has an estimated population of 63,000 people. It was formed in 1994 from the merger of parts of the Shire of Eltham, Shire of Diamond Valley, Shire of Healesville and City of Whittlesea as part of the Kennett Governments restructuring to reduce local government costs. The Shire uses the slogan “The Green Wedge Shire”.
Nillumbik includes the Suburbs of Diamond Creek, Eltham, Hurstbridge, North Warrandyte and Wattle Glen and the towns and areas of Arthurs Creek, Bend of Islands, Christmas Hills, Cottles Bridge, Doreen, Kangaroo Ground, Kinglake, Nutfield, Panton Hill, Plenty, Research, Smiths Gully, St Andrews, Strathewen, Watsons Creek and Yarrambat.